Rehearsal interviews Rehearsal interviews

Newsletter


Please enter a valid email address

Follow Us

Shakespeare's Globe

Introductory Lectures

  • Education/IT_2

Various dates, 6.00pm

Nancy Knowles Lecture Theatre, Shakespeare's Globe

Tickets Running Time
£8 | £6 FoSG & Students Approximately 1 hour
Buy Tickets →

More information


Please Note: Latecomers will not be admitted 15 minutes after the start of an event.

For more information about the Summer of Love shows, click here.

 

Your visit


Getting here → 
Eating and drinking → 
Where to stay → 
FAQs →

Leading Shakespeare scholars, with the support of Globe actors, offer inspiring introductory talks to the plays in the Globe Theatre and the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse seasons.*

*Please note we cannot guarantee that any specific cast or creative team member will be present at our Introductory Lectures.


WONDER NOIR - 2016 WINTER SEASON >>
 

SUMMER OF LOVE - 2017 SUMMER SEASON >>


 

Wonder Noir - 2016 Winter Season:

 

 

Othello


Tuesday 28 February & Tuesday 14 March
Speaker: Tony Howard, with extracts by Bailey Patrick

Tony Howard publishes on performance in its social and political contexts, primarily Shakespeare in performance on stage and in the mass media; contemporary British drama; and East European poetry and theatre. His research currently focuses on the relationship between race and Shakespeare in modern Britain; the AHRC-funded Multicultural Shakespeare Project is gathering information on the achievements of black and Asian artists working on the plays in Britain since Paul Robeson played Othello in London in 1930. With Barbara Bogoczek he works on Polish poetry and drama, for example translating lyrics for the composer Zbigniew Preisner.

 

sold out >>

 

 

Summer of Love - 2017 Summer Season:

 

Romeo and Juliet


Tuesday 9 May
Speaker: TBC

 

Tuesday 6 June
Speaker: TBC

 

Tuesday 20 June
Speaker: TBC

 

Twelfth Night


Wednesday 24 May
Speaker: TBC

 

Wednesday 28 June
Speaker: TBC 

 

Wednesday 5 July
Speaker: TBC 

 

King Lear


Wednesday 23 August
Speaker: TBC

 

Wednesday 4 October
Speaker: TBC

 

Much Ado About Nothing


Tuesday 22 August
Speaker: TBC

 

Tuesday 19 September
Speaker: TBC