Shakespeare's Globe

Captioned Performances

Summer Theatre Season 2018

Nanjing

Sunday 24 June, 5.00pm

The Two Noble Kinsmen

Tuesday 26 June, 7.30pm

As You Like It

Tuesday 3 July, 7.30pm
Sunday 22 July, 1.00pm

Hamlet

Thursday 5 July, 7.30pm
Sunday 22 July, 6.30pm
Saturday 28 July, 2.00pm

Emilia

Thursday 30 August, 7.30pm

Love’s Labour’s Lost

Tuesday 11 September, 7.45pm
Wednesday 12 September, 7.45pm
Thursday 13 September, 7.45pm
Friday 14 September, 7.45pm
Saturday 15 September, 2.15pm

The Winter’s Tale

Tuesday 2 October, 7.30pm

Othello

Saturday 6 October, 2.00pm

Eyam

Sunday 7 October, 1.00pm

 

Introductory Talk

As You Like It

Wednesday 3 July, 6.00pm

The Winter’s Tale

Tuesday 2 October, 6.00pm

 

Company Q&As
15 minutes after the matinee

Hamlet

Thursday 14 June

Othello

Saturday 22 October

Captioned Performances

  • Access/Captioned/1

Each year there are captioned performances provided by STAGETEXT. Captioning converts the spoken word into text which provides people with hearing loss access to live performances. In captioning, the words appear on a screen at the same time as they are sung or spoken. Captions also include sound effects, offstage noises and character names.

Globe Performances

The best view of the captioning units in the Globe Theatre is from the Lower and Middle Galleries, from bays L,N, G and E. Please ask the Box Office for further advice when booking.

Sam Wanamaker Playhouse Performances

Please note that for captioned performances in the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse, captions are provided on individual captioning screens located in the Upper Gallery. Please be clear at the time of booking that you are a caption user to make sure that you are in the correct part of the theatre and will have access to a screen, and please state the number of screens you will require.

How to Book

To book for a signed performance, please contact the Box Office, or alternatively, please download and complete the Captioned Performances Booking Form below and return to us via email.

Captioned Performances Booking Form (PDF Version) →

Email: access@shakespearesglobe.com

If you have any other queries about your visit, please contact us on the same address, or on 020 7902 1409.