Globe On Tour

  FROM 18 MAY 2020       UK & INTERNATIONAL TOUR

Shakespeare’s Globe has taken the difficult but responsible decision to close our doors to the public until further notice, ceasing performances, education activities and tours.

As you can imagine, this has been one of the hardest decisions we have had to make, but a necessary one as we consider the safety and well-being of both the public, staff and volunteers.

We hope to open the doors to our wooden O as soon as possible – but in this unprecedented time for theatre, and as a charity that receives no annual government subsidy, we are in desperate need of donations to help us to continue to strive in the future.

We ask at this time of huge risk to our beloved theatre that you donate if you can. Any amount, large or small, will be hugely appreciated.

With love, solidarity and thanks to you all from the whole Globe family.

If   when we meet again, why, we shall smile

MAKE A DONATION NOW

How did a company tour in Shakespeare’s day? We know that when the theatres closed, a small group of actors, juggling a variety of roles in three or four plays from their extensive repertoire, would leave London and head off on tour. Following in the tradition of their resident playwright, Shakespeare’s Globe head for the road and presents a trio of plays exploring the city and the places beyond the city walls and boundaries.

Venues to include: The Brewhouse, Hay Festival, The Reader at Calderstones, Littlebredy in Dorset, St James’ in Guernsey, Brighton Open Air Theatre, and Hever Castle in Kent. More venues to be announced. See table for full details.

The plays will be performed as a touring production would have been staged in the 17th century, with a stripped back set and a small, versatile troupe of actors. Taking on multiple roles across all three plays – A Midsummer Night’s Dream, As You Like It and The Tempest – the talented cast will unravel these tales of lovers, exiles, dreamers and wanderers.

THE PLAYS

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Four brawling lovers, caught in a dispute of magical proportions; a crew of keen mechanicals, determined to give it their all; and one roguish sprite, hell-bent on causing as much havoc as possible… What could possibly go wrong? Exploding with dramatic poetry, mischief and merriment, A Midsummer Night’s Dream is Shakespeare’s amazingly inventive play, whose serious and dark undercurrent cuts starkly through the hilarity making its dreamlike surface deeply rich and all the more memorable.

As You Like It

A firm favourite among Shakespeare’s comedies, and including some of his best loved characters, As You Like It runs the glorious gamut of pastoral romance: cross-dressing and love-notes; poetry and brilliant conversation; gentle satire, slapstick and passion. A series of hilarious mistaken identities and mishaps in the Forest of Arden ultimately sees new friendships formed, and families and lovers reunited.

The Tempest

Inspired by reports of the first English colonies in the West Indies and imbued with a spirit of magic and the supernatural, The Tempest is Shakespeare’s late great masterpiece of forgiveness, generosity and enlightenment set on a remote and mysterious desert island, but with magic enchantments and treachery at every turn, will anyone ever make it off?

What is Audience Choice?

At some venues, and for certain performances, you’ll go to the theatre and not know which of our trio of shows you’ll be seeing. In the space of minutes you could be flung to fairyland, the forest of Arden, or a mystery island in the middle of the ocean. It’ll be up to you as audience members to collectively decide which world you’ll end up in. The rules are simple: the loudest cheer wins, and the action begins straight away. It’s an experiment, it’s experiential, it’s Shakespearean, it’s shared and it’s at the heart of what Shakespeare’s Globe does.

2020 DATES & PLACES

More dates and venues to be announced soon.

West Horsley Place 

Thu 14 May 7pm      The Tempest

Fri 15 May 7pm      A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Directions to West Horsley Place

The Brewhouse

Mon 18 May 7.30pm       A Midsummer Night’s Dream + Q&A

Tue 19 May 7.30pm      The Tempest + Q&A

Wed 20 May 7.30pm      As You Like It + Q&A

Directions to The Brewhouse

Hay Festival

Sat 23 May 7pm      A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Sun 24 May 7pm      As You Like It

Mon 25 May 2.30pm      Audience Choice 

Mon 25 May 7pm      The Tempest

Tue 26 May 7pm      A Midsummer Night’s Dream 

Wed 27 May 7pm      As You Like It

Fri 29 May 7pm      A Midsummer Night’s Dream 

Sat 30 May 2.30pm      Audience Choice

Sat 30 May 7pm      The Tempest

Directions to Hay Festival

The Major Oak in Sherwood Forest

Mon 1 June 7pm      A Midsummer Night’s Dream  Directions to The Major Oak in Sherwood Forest

The Reader, Calderstones Mansion House 

Thu 4 June 7pm    Audience choice 

Fri 5 June 7pm    Audience choice 

Sat 6 June 2pm    Audience choice 

Sat 6 June 7pm    Audience choice 

Directions to Calderstones Mansion House

Hexham Abbey

Thu 2 July 7.30pm    As You Like It

Fri 3 July 11am      Audience Choice

Fri 3 July 7.30pm      The Tempest

Sat 4 July 2pm    A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Directions to Hexham Abbey

Bridehead, Littlebredy, Dorset

This tour is presented by Artsreach, Dorset’s touring arts charity.

Fri 10 July 7pm    The Tempest

Sat 11 July 2pm    As You Like It 

Sat 11 July 7pm    A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Directions to Bridehead, Littlebredy

St James’ Guernsey

Tickets go on sale to Friends of St James on 17 February – General Tickets will be on sale on 16 March

Wed 15 July 7.30pm    A Midsummer Night’s Dream 

Thu 16 July 7.30pm    As You Like It 

Fri 17 July 7.30pm    The Tempest

Sat 18 July 7.30pm    Audience choice 

Directions to St James’ Guernsey

Oxford Playhouse at Blenheim Palace

Priority booking is open. General Online booking opens at 02:00 on 20 Mar 2020

Tue 21 July 7.30pm  As You Like It

Wed 22 July 7.30pm      The Tempest

Thu 23 July 7.30pm      As You Like It

Fri 24 July 7.30pm    The Tempest

Sat 25 July 2.30pm      A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Sat 25 July 2.30pm    A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Sun 26 July 7.30pm   A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Tue 28 July 7.30pm  The Tempest

Wed 29 July 7.30pm    As You Like It

Thu 30 July 7.30pm    The Tempest

Fri 31 July 7.30pm    As You Like It

Sat 1 Aug 2.30pm    A Midsummer Night’s Dream 

Sat 1 Aug 7.30pm      A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Sun 2 Aug 7.30pm    A Midsummer Night’s Dream 

Directions to Oxford Playhouse at Blenheim Palace

Brighton Open Air Theatre

Wed 19 August 7pm    A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Thu 20 August 2pm    As You Like It

Thu 20 August 7pm    The Tempest

Fri 21 August 7pm    As You Like it

Sat 22 August 2pm    A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Sat 22 August 7pm    The Tempest

Directions to Brighton Open Air Theatre

The Festival Theatre
at Hever Castle

Thu 27 August 8pm    The Tempest

Fri 28 August 2pm    A Midsummer Night’s Dream 

Fri 28 August 8pm    A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Sat 29 August 8pm    As You Like It 

Directions to The Festival Theatre at Hever Castle

REHEARSAL PHOTOS

Cast & creatives

PREVIOUS PRODUCTION PHOTOS

GLOBE ON TOUR AT THE GLOBE

Throughout the summer, the Touring Ensemble will be returning home to perform the touring shows at the Globe