Shakespeare's Globe

  • council page_tree

The Globe Council was created in 2005 and currently comprises over 130 former Trustees and former members of various Globe Committees and Advisory Groups, who have given shape to the Globe project since its inception in the early 1970s.

The general purpose of the Globe Council is to reflect historical context and to provide on-going support, strategic advice and critical comment on the Globe’s policies, activities and long term plans. The main vehicle for this is in the form of an annual meeting which is held in London in the early part of each year.

Globe Council Members currently serve on the Artistic Advisory, Architectural Research and Globe Education Advisory Groups. All current members of the Board of Trustees are also members of The Globe Council.

Current Globe Council members:

Lord Falconer of Thoroton, Chairman
Dr Diana Devlin, Deputy Chairman
Lyn Williams, Convenor

Mrs Gene Andersen Lennie James
Adrian Babbidge Jean Jayer
Lucy Bailey Peter Jolly
Merrick Baker-Bates CMG Michael Kahn
Robert Banks Ken Kelling
Keith Baxter Peter Kent CMG
Linda Beaney Norbert Kentrup
Lucy Beevor Alan King
Henry Beltran Geoffrey King
Lord Birkett Nancy Knowles-Kolden
Christina Blair Peter Kyle OBE
Lyle Blair Jane Lapotaire
Lord Blair of Boughton Robert Leaf
Rudi Bogni Jerome Link Hon OBE
Liz Brewer Christopher Luscombe
Tony Britton John McEnery
Robert Brooke Prof. Gordon McMullan
Bill Bryden CBE Joseph Marcell
Alan Butland Charles Marowitz
Lord Butler of Brockwell GCB CVO Lady Belinda Morse
Deborah Cornford Callan  Dominic Muldowney
Audre D Carlin Maureen Murdock
Jeremy Child Philip Murphy
Alan Cox Heather Neill
Brian Cox CBE Lady Rupert Nevill
Kenneth Cranham Yukio Ninagawa
Jonathan David Richard Olivier
Gordon Davidson Roger Parry
Barry Day OBE Sir Michael Perry GBE
Sir Evelyn de Rothschild David Pickard
Prof. Alan Dessen Ian Plenderleith CBE
Tom Deveson Natalie T Pray
Stephen Dingle Prof. Richard Proudfoot
Joe Dowling Velma Pursehouse
Mark Engelman Dr Martin P Read
Robert Erith Nelson Skip Riddle
Faith Evans Sue Robertson
Rosemary Ewles John Rodwell
Paul Farnsworth Anne Rowley
Anton Franks Dawn Sanders QSM
Barbara Gaines Hon. OBE Prunella Scales CBE
Peter Gill OBE Stuart Sessions MBE
Anne Gilmour Barry Shaw
Emma Gilpin-Jacobs Jack Shepherd
Julian Glover Robert D Smith CMG
Charles Goldman Tom Stephens
Kenneth Grange CBE Jeanne Strickland
Jon Greenfield Jenny Tiramani
Prof. Andrew Gurr Patrick Tucker
Daniel Hahn Claire van Kampen
Jackie Haighton Yolanda Vazquez
Patrick Haighton Abby Wanamaker
Sir Peter Hall Matthew Warchus
Rosemary Harris Jo Maitland Weiss
Sue Harrison Prof. Stanley Wells CBE
Sandra Hepburn Martin Westwood
Prof. Frank Hildy Prof. Martin White
Valerie Hill-Archer John Whitney
Anastasia Hille Spencer Wigley
Thelma Holt CBE Michael Willcox
Jeffrey Horowitz Alan Williams
Rt. Hon. Lord Howell of Guildford Anne Wolfe
Lady Clare Howes Michael York CBE
Iraj Ispahani Franco Zeffirelli
Graham Jackson