Follow Us

Shakespeare's Globe

Reflections on WW1: Elgar and Vaughan Williams

1 December


The Chilingirian Quartet

Carole Presland

Simon Rowland-Jones

  • Theatre / Reflections on WW1

Marking 100 years since the First World War, this concert brings together Elgar and Vaughan Williams’ compositions that were developed through their personal experiences and reflections of the time.

Written on the eve of World War One, Ralph Vaughan Williams’ Phantasy Quintet is one of his lesser known chamber masterpieces. Drawing on the forms of Elizabethan consort music, Vaughan Williams here blends the past with his own inimitable style and transports the listener through moments of boundless energy and exquisite reflection.

In the aftermath of World War One, Edward Elgar composed his last great works, the Cello Concerto and three chamber masterpieces, among them the Piano Quintet of 1919. Beset by ill-health and depressed at the losses of the war, in these works there is a final flowering of the composer’s familiar impassioned melodic lines, as if to mourn the passing of ‘this blessed plot, this earth, this realm, this England’.

For over four decades the Chilingirian String Quartet has thrilled critics and audiences around the world with its vibrant, virtuosic performances of classical and contemporary chamber music. For this concert they are joined by pianist Carole Presland and violist Simon Rowland-Jones.

‘The performances of the Chilingirian Quartet are masterly’
The Guardian

Programme to include:

Vaughan Williams Phantasy Quintet for two violins, two violas, and cello (1912)

Elgar Piano Quintet, op.84 (1919)

Book Now